Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Natalie Edwards of Trellis Literary

Natalie Edwards is a literary agent with Trellis Literary.

Natalie joined Trellis Literary after nearly two years at Janklow & Nesbit Associates. Prior to that, she worked at Curtis Brown, Ltd. At Trellis, Natalie supports Allison Hunter and Michelle Brower, while actively building a list of her own.

In terms of fiction, she is seeking commercial, upmarket, and literary titles both contemporary and historical: stories of queerness and diaspora (i.e., Patsy), hidden histories, workplace satires/sendups of #girlbosses, and anything that offers biting social commentary and disrupts conventional wisdom. She is particularly drawn to accessible voices with a literary sensibility, in the vein of Ann Patchett and Zadie Smith, especially when they let her in on a subculture or historical truth she’s never encountered before. She also enjoys contemporary retellings of classic works, particularly by authors from underrepresented and marginalized groups.

In the nonfiction space, she is looking for hybrid memoirs (think H is for Hawk or In the Darkroom), which combine personal stories with research/reportage; narrative nonfiction like Say Nothing or Bad Blood; and cultural histories about music, film, art, and sports. There is nothing more delicious to her than the implosion of a scam, and nothing sweeter than rightful justice being handed down, so anything involving bad actors getting their comeuppance at the hands of passionate advocates for truth, she wants to see.

Natalie grew up in Pasadena, California and attended Bowdoin College, where she earned her BA in English with a minor in History and played four years of varsity softball. She lives in Brooklyn and still plays on several softball teams in the city.

Natalie’s dream authors include: Ann Patchett, Zadie Smith, Carmen Maria Machado, Robert Kolker, Susan Faludi, Patrick Radden Keefe, Samantha Irby, Fiona Davis, Viet Thanh Nguyen, Karina Longworth, Nicole Dennis-Benn, and T Kira Madden.

Leave a Reply